Words of Mouse

Weekend Wrap for 10.19.08

with 4 comments

My blog has been neglected for the past few days, and I apologize for that. I’ve had a headache since last Sunday (yes, for an entire week) and it’s made it very difficult to think and write. I’ve finished client projects that were due, but have been trying to stay away from the computer as much as possible otherwise.

The blogosphere (or “underground” as one of Deb’s clients called it) was busy again this week. I’ve got so much reading material to get caught up on, but I’ve made my way through a lot of it for this week’s weekend wrap.

Jenn Mattern started a new series about revenue streams for writers. Her first post in the series talks about blogging and how to earn money from it. There are some good points in there, especially about using advertising and affiliate programs to earn passive income.

Chris Bibey is almost at 500 subscribers for his blog. Why not help him reach his goal before the end of the year by subscribing to ChrisBlogging? There is a new post every day ad Chris gives some great tips on marketing, becoming a better freelancer, and balancing your work with your life.

Okay, so I just went to Kristen King’s blog to see if there were any posts I wanted to link to (I wrote all this down throughout the week, but somehow my notes are missing), and her blog has gotten a fabulous makeover! Check out Inkthinker and I guarantee you’ll love the new look.

Amy Derby had a new post in her Punk Duck Series: Punk Up Your Services Offered List. It’s a good idea to be able to provide more than one specific service to clients, especially in times of economic hardship. Think about your services offered. Can you turn your love of blogging into a blog consulting service? Do you offer proofreading in addition to writing services?

Avid Writer had a great post on Friday related to the economy and its impact on freelance writers. Read Is the Economy Changing the Way You Operate? for a thoughtful discussion of adding more services for your clients, marketing for the holiday season, and even lowering your writing rates.

Lori Widmer made a good point about mistakes and how they can often lead to more opportunities in our lives. Last week, Lori made a mistake when writing an article and wrote it about a different topic than assigned. However, her “mistake” has paved the way for her to sell the article to an even higher-paying publication. Have you ever made a mistake that turned out to be a good opportunity in disguise?

Angela Booth had some good information on why starting out as a local writer can help you make more money. I don’t agree with her assertion that you should “forget about the Internet,” but I do agree that you should write local if you want to become known as a working writer in your community.

Tomorrow I’ll have a new post in the Building a Writer’s Web Site series: How to Choose a Web Host. I’ll also have a review on an e-book by Bob Bly and more information on building a writer’s Web site this week. Have a lovely Sunday!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for including me in your weekend wrap. :-) Sorry for your headache. I get those too. Weeklong headache is no fun, so I can seriously sympathize.

    Amy Derby

    October 19, 2008 at 6:00 pm

  2. It was my pleasure. I love your Punk Duck series!

    lzaykoski

    October 19, 2008 at 6:08 pm

  3. Hi leigh,

    Thank you for including me in your post. I am a fellow headache (migraine?) sufferer so I am really feeling for you right now! Get plenty of rest, drink lots of water (sometimes it helps) and feel better soon! I look forward to checking out your web site series.:)

    Avid Writer

    October 20, 2008 at 1:52 am

  4. Thanks, Kimberly. Nice to see you here again!

    lzaykoski

    October 20, 2008 at 2:13 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

