Words of Mouse

10 Commandments of Working with a Freelance Writer

with 4 comments

I’ve noticed a lot of other writers are posting about their troubles with clients lately, so I decided to whip up a list of 10 Commandments of Working with a Freelance Writer.  What would you add to the list?

  1. Thou shall have no other writers before me, working on the same project and making things confusing.
  2. Thou shall not pay me with graven images, cookies, or anything not in the form of spendable currency.
  3. Thou shall not take my name in vain (at least not to my face).
  4. Remember thy payment due dates, and keep them holy.
  5. Honor thy contractual obligations.
  6. Thou shall not say, “the check is in the mail,” when there is clearly no check.
  7. Thou shall not ignore my invoice.
  8. Thou shall not complain about my work only after I have sent three payment reminders.
  9. Thou shall not bear false witness against me in blog posts, Web sites, or forums.
  10. Thou shall not covet a lower price.

Written by lzaykoski

September 13, 2008 at 3:52 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Funny, but true. 🙂 I like the paying in cookies thing. I saw one ad about a year ago from someone who wanted to pay in Dunkin Donuts coupons. I thought that was pretty funny…..

    Amy Derby

    September 14, 2008 at 12:19 am

  2. I think I saw that ad on Craigslist Curmudgeon a while back. I got my inspiration for the second commandment from a discussion on FWJ a while back about getting paid in cookies, ad revenue, karma, etc.

    lzaykoski

    September 14, 2008 at 2:36 am

  3. Leigh

    What an awesome list post – this is the sort of thing I like reading. You got your point across, kept it short, and amused me while you were doing it.

    For me, it was perfect. Well done!

    Alex Fayle | Someday Syndrome

    September 14, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  4. Thanks, Alex. I’m going to head over to your blog and check it out at length.

    lzaykoski

    September 15, 2008 at 4:23 pm


Leave a comment