Words of Mouse

Client Handbooks

with one comment

I recently wrote a client handbook for one of my clients, as he has been having difficulty with some of his own clients.  He is an SEO consultant, and it seemed as if many of his clients expected that SEO would work overnight and they would magically have thousands of visitors just days after signing up for his services.  Additionally, several of them would not participate in monthly strategy calls or even respond to his e-mails in a timely fashion.  The guide I wrote includes an overview of the SEO process, how long it may take to see results, and what is expected of clients in terms of communication and participation in the process.

I’m thinking about having a guide for new clients when I launch my new content writing site.  Lori Widmer has a great guide at her professional site, and it contains a lot of information clients can use.  Additionally, if my expectations and work habits are outlined in writing, I believe projects will progress more smoothly and I will reduce the number of payment issues or service issues I experience.

The outline for my handbook includes the following information:

  • Hours of operation, and what time zone I am in (to hopefully completely eliminate 3 a.m. phone calls from clients in other time zones)
  • Telephone/e-mail response time policy
  • What I expect from clients (complete the project brief I give out; give timely feedback on drafts; answer project questions in a timely manner)
  • Payment policies (deposit terms, payment due dates, what happens if you “lose my invoice” and I need to come after you for money)

Have any of you ever had such a document?  What else would you recommend that I include?

Written by lzaykoski

September 16, 2008 at 12:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leigh, I just realized this was you who has been posting on my blog. How the heck have you been? I tried to email you a while back, but I’m not sure if you have the same addy. Lori and I were just saying we’d love to hear from you. Anyway, I emailed you because Book Expo America is coming back to New York next year, sooner than anticipated. Email me. We need to catch up!

    IrreverentFreelancer

    September 17, 2008 at 12:00 am


Leave a Reply

