Words of Mouse

Freelance Negotiations

with one comment

Here’s a story that should be over on Kathy Kehrli’s Irreverent Freelancer site. I’m doing some work this morning, when someone contacts me on Yahoo. I have profiles at a few forums for Webmasters and marketers, and I include my Yahoo screen name in my profiles so that people can contact me. At first, I got all excited because someone was contacting ME instead of me having to market to them. I should have known not to get excited.

The potential buyer asked me to write a 500-word article on a very easy topic. No keywords were involved, and I could write on any aspect of the topic I wanted. It may have taken me 40 minutes, tops, to finish the article. I told him I could have it to him in about an hour and asked what his budget was. His answer? $3.50.

I am SO happy I am at the point in my freelancing career where I can just say no and move on without worrying about losing out on a client. I’d have to write THREE articles per hour just to break minimum wage at that rate. Writers, it’s been discussed before, but you don’t have to work for peanuts! Even when I was first starting out, I never did an article for $3.50. Stick to your guns and you’ll be able to cultivate relationships with clients who will pay for your expertise. It’s a lot easier to get through the day when you make $25 per article (or more, depending on the type of article – I’m talking straight Web content, no interviews) than when you’re making $3.50 per article and need to try to write 40 articles in a day to try to make a decent living.

Written by lzaykoski

September 17, 2008 at 1:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cannot imagine ANYONE who would accept $3.50 for a 500 word article, but the crazy thing is that I know those people are out there. It’s madness. Good for you.

    Kristen

    Kristen King

    September 17, 2008 at 4:10 pm


Leave a Reply

