Words of Mouse

Incorporation Announcement

leave a comment »

I decided last week that I wanted to incorporate so that I would be able to open a business bank account, get a business Paypal account, and build business credit separate from my own.  I filled out all of the paperwork (really only two online forms) and submitted it, so I’m pleased to tell you that in a few weeks, my business will officially be Word of Mouse Communications, Inc.  The process was very easy and the price was reasonable.  Most banks ask for a certified copy of your state filing documents, and even with the extra $65 I had to pay for those, the grand total only came to $249.

My incorporation will be formed in Delaware, as the fees there are much less expensive than in Pennsylvania.  In addition, Pennsylvania requires that you publish a notice of your incorporation, which can cost several hundred dollars.  If I filed in Pennsylvania, it would have cost me well over $600 as opposed to the $249 for Delaware registration.  I used Biz Filings to process the transaction. I used them many times when I worked for a real estate company and needed to open separate LLCs for each property the company purchased. I have always found their customer service to be excellent and they follow through on what they promise.

Once the incorporation is final, I can go ahead and open those business bank and Paypal accounts, use my corporate name on letterhead, business cards, and other marketing materials, and finally show my mother that I do not sit home in my pajamas all day making “fake Internet money.”

Written by lzaykoski

September 25, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

