Words of Mouse

Frugal Freelancer Fridays: Skype for Business

leave a comment »

I’m starting a new feature here called Frugal Freelancer Fridays. Every Friday, I’ll post about a way to save money in your freelance writing business or link to a deal specifically for freelancers. This week’s tip is about using Skype to save a substantial amount of money on your business telephone expenses. Using my cell phone for business was working fine, but then I started getting more calls from clients, and I was talking for 30 or 40 minutes at a time. It wasn’t cost effective to keep adding minutes to my phone. I’d used Skype’s messenger software in the past, and knew they offered VOIP calling services, so I decided to try them out.

Skype has several plans available, but I chose the plan that allows unlimited calling in the US and Canada for $2.95 per month. Unlimited here means a “fair use” of 10,000 minutes per month, but I find that to be very fair. I’ve made many calls using my subscription and the calls come through very clearly and have no static or other issues. My only problem when I first started out was that I purchased a headset online, and when it arrived at my house, the microphone didn’t work.

Another great feature of the Skype calling plan is that a record of all of your calls is stored in your account. If you use the account for both business and personal use, it’s very easy to print out a call listing and highlight your business calls for tax purposes. This makes tax documentation a little bit less painful for everyone.

Do any of you have calling plan recommendations that would help freelancers save money?

Written by lzaykoski

September 26, 2008 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

