Words of Mouse

Hiring a Virtual Assistant for Your Freelance Writing Business

leave a comment »

I recently hired a virtual assistant to provide me with administrative support for my freelance writing career. I had been thinking about it for a long time, but always put it off because I couldn’t see where I would come up with the money or justify the cost of an assistant. However, I changed my mind when I listened to a free seminar given by Alexandria Brown, The E-zine Queen. Alexandria was talking about how she got started as a copywriter, and how she also used to say she couldn’t afford to hire someone to help with administrative work. Then she realized that if she paid someone $50 or $100 to do work that resulted in a $500 or $1,000 client, it would be well worth the expense. What she said made a lot of sense, so I decided to go ahead and take the plunge.

A friend of mine runs an SEO firm and he recently hired a virtual assistant. I knew he wasn’t using her full-time, so I asked him to pass on her contact information. I corresponded with her for a little while, talked to my friend about how she was working out for him, and decided to hire her. I will NOT be outsourcing any of my writing to her. My plan is to have her to do other things so that I can concentrate solely on writing. So any of my clients reading this; don’t worry. Dana will be working on online research (her first project is identifying Web design firms that I can pitch my services to), social networking/marketing (setting up profiles, updating them), posting my pre-written posts to my blog, and doing similar tasks.

If you’re thinking about hiring a virtual assistant, think about the opportunity cost of not hiring one before you tell yourself you can’t justify the expense. If you are sitting home doing invoices and administrative work when you could be out networking and bringing home new clients, it’s going to cost you more money than it would to pay for some administrative help each week.

Written by lzaykoski

September 28, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Leave a Reply

