Words of Mouse

My Ex-Boyfriend’s Fake Job: Things Aren’t Always What They Seem

leave a comment »

I know your eyebrows are probably raised at today’s post title, but bear with me. I promise you this has to do with freelance writing. Jenn Mattern at AllFreelanceWriting had an interesting post on September 15. The post, titled Lessons on Freelance Writing from the Dating Scene, got me thinking about how my relationships have prepared me to be a better freelance writer.

A few years ago, I lived with my boyfriend in Brooklyn, NY. Every day, he’d get up and put on his gorgeous gray suit, dress shirt, and silk tie. I LOVED that my boyfriend was a successful graphic designer and wore a suit to work every day. This continued for a few weeks until some bills came rolling in, and finally I asked him where his paycheck was. I won’t go into details, but it turns out he didn’t really have a job. He would get up each morning, dress for “work,” and pack casual clothes in his bag to change in to after he left the house. That brings me to an important point about being a freelance writer (or any type of freelancer) and trusting your potential clients and current clients.

When you’re thinking about working with someone, you need to keep yourself from making snap judgments about their reliability and trustworthiness based on things like their appearance, income, or industry of expertise. How many times have you decided to waive a deposit because someone “seemed honest”? Have you ever gone the extra mile because someone appeared to be trustworthy and ended up not getting paid or getting hurt in some other way?

You need to protect yourself as a freelancer, so do your best not to let your perceptions of people cloud your judgment. If you want a 50% deposit up front, then everyone must pay the deposit. If you want a signed contract, get one from every client. Don’t be left without compensation for your work just because someone seemed to have a lot of money or acted like they were very honest. You may be disappointed.

Written by lzaykoski

September 29, 2008 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

