Words of Mouse

Freelance Weight Loss Wednesdays

with 2 comments

Okay, I promise I won’t come up with any more weekly features that are an alliterative combination of a word and the day of the week. But I’ve been talking to some other freelancers, and reading other blogs, and I’m finding that one of the biggest issues freelancers are facing is weight gain due to inactivity. I’m definitely struggling with it, and I’ve finally taken some steps to remedy my discontent. As freelancers, we actually have more freedom to make time for healthful eating and exercise than many other people.

We’re busy people, but we have the power to schedule time for exercising, meal planning, food shopping, and food preparation. I’m single and don’t have kids, so of course it is easier for me to do these things. But, if you think about it, the opportunity cost of not taking action is too great. If you don’t have time to cook a healthy dinner, will you have time to visit the doctor once a month if you develop diabetes? If you don’t exercise because you think you don’t have time, are you going to have time to be lying in bed in pain when your back begins to ache because of extra weight?

In the three weeks since I’ve started making changes, I’ve lost a little more than 15 pounds. I’ve also lost one dress size and two jean sizes, making me a very happy camper. I’d love to share with other freelancers the absolutely painless changes I have been making over the course of the next few months. I’m not starving, I’m not spending three hours a day at the gym, and I am actually enjoying exercise for the first time. The meals I make are very quick, simple, and inexpensive. I always used to put off making food changes because I thought it was “too expensive.” It would be too expensive if I was still eating four times more than I should at meals. But since I am eating the right portion sizes, everything lasts much longer and I am able to shop just once every two weeks.

In the next few weeks, I’ll be talking about why freelancers might gain weight, the kind of meals I have been eating, recipes for quick and delicious dinners, how we can get more exercise even on days when we need to be chained to our desks, and my overall progress. This feature isn’t meant to be a bragging tool for me, but a way to give back to the community that helped me get started and build a successful freelance writing career. Hope to see you next Wednesday.

Written by lzaykoski

October 1, 2008 at 1:49 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, surely you are talking about me here. I have gained weight since going full-time as a freelance writer, but I know that everything you said is true: nothing is stopping me from correcting the situation except me. So, I am making myself a priority and making the time to remove myself from my computer to exercise each day, changing my diet and so on. Congrats on the 15 pound weight loss in 3 weeks – that’s incredible!

    Avid Writer

    October 2, 2008 at 12:48 am

  2. Thanks for the comment, Kimberly. I have a lot to lose so, from my understanding, it comes off pretty quickly at first. I’m sure that once I’ve been on the same diet for a few weeks, I’ll only lose 8-10 pounds per month and not 15 or 20.

    lzaykoski

    October 2, 2008 at 4:55 pm


Leave a Reply

