Words of Mouse

“It doesn’t matter if you’re only paid two dollars for an article…”

leave a comment »

I downloaded a PDF transcript of a Podcast today and almost fell over when I read the line above. I know this mentality runs rampant in the Internet marketing world, but these words of wisdom are from a fellow writer. The writer contends that it doesn’t matter if you’re only paid two dollars for an article if it’s the first time you get paid for your writing and says you can increase your rates later. A few years ago, when I was just starting out, I may have been able to make sense out of that argument. But now that I know how potential customers think, I think it’s almost impossible to start out at $2 per article and raise your rates to a livable wage.

If you charge $2 per article and all of a sudden want to jump to $10 or $20 per article, what do you think your clients will say? They will probably just go find someone else who didn’t think to charge a reasonable rate from the get-go. Charging a low rate also creates problems if you want to get referrals from clients. I have a friend who keeps quoting my rates to people, but they’re not the rates I charge. I charge him those rates because we’ve worked together for almost four years and been friends just as long. I want to smack him every time he tells me he’s sending someone my way because I know he quoted them an outdated rate. Clients talk to their friends and colleagues. If you’re charging $2 an article for an Internet marketer, he’s going to tell all his Internet marketing and affiliate marketing friends about the cheap writer he found and then you’re going to be pigeon-holed as a $2 per article writer.

Any other thoughts on this topic?

Written by lzaykoski

October 6, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Leave a Reply

