Words of Mouse

Freelance Weight Loss Wednesdays: Portion Control

with one comment

I sort of fell off the proverbial wagon this week, as I was lured to the local DQ for a strawberry cheesequake blizzard (that had not ONE piece of cheesecake in it, which means I effectively paid $5 for strawberry ice cream!). However, it was the first time I’ve done that since I started eating better and exercising, so I won’t beat myself up too much about it. Today’s topic: portion control.

Freelancers are notorious for eating at their desks. You may be eating pretzels or chips straight from the bag, or mindlessly munching on some crackers. If you want to lose weight and feel more relaxed, step away from what you’re doing and sit down at the kitchen or dining room table and eat a real meal. I was flabbergasted when I saw how much I had been overeating. For example, I make this (awesome) brown rice with onions and bullion seasoning. I never bothered to look at the serving size, so I’d just put a few serving spoons full on my plate and eat away. Turns out the serving size is only one-half cup!

Check the serving sizes on your favorite foods to make sure you’re not way overdoing your portions. You may also want to keep some apples, watermelon, and other high fiber foods around the house for when you first start cutting portions. You will probably be a little hungry at first, so eat a recommended serving size of whatever you are eating and, if you’re still hungry, eat an apple or some watermelon chunks. This can help you replace extra servings of higher-calorie foods and help you reduce your overall calorie consumption.

As a side benefit, you’ll spend way less on groceries if you are eating smaller portions. The first week I began making changes, I spent $72 at the grocery store. It was a high amount because I didn’t have a lot of basic cooking ingredients like spices, bags of rice, eggs, and other items that would last for more than one week. Since then, I’m only spending about $30-35 per week on food (I’m single, so of course it will cost more if you have a spouse and kids). I’m never hungry and I feel MUCH better.

Get out there and have a wonderful Wednesday!

Written by lzaykoski

October 8, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Original post by Words of Mouse […]


Leave a Reply

