Words of Mouse

Upcoming Blog Changes

with 2 comments

I’ve been reviewing my blog stats and noticing that certain types of posts get more traffic and comments, so I’m making a few changes here to better meet the needs of readers.

Awesome Change #1: I’ll be posting twice per day on most days. One post will be a more general post to talk about what’s going on in the freelance writing world, link to other writers’ blogs, and even rant and rave about freelance writing issues. The other post will be more instructional in nature, with specific action steps that anyone can take to make small, yet quantifiable, improvements to their businesses.

Awesome Change #2: New feature: Monday Money Makers. I know, I know; I promised that I wouldn’t make up any more features with alliterative titles, but I couldn’t resist. On Mondays, I’ll be posting about ways to make money using affiliate programs, information products, and other techniques that don’t focus on exchanging your time and work for money from a client on a one-time basis.

Awesome Change #3: Brand new series on designing a writer’s Web site from the ground up. I’m currently having a basic template designed for my site, but I will be adding my own content, coming up with a navigation system, and implementing many SEO and marketing techniques. With all of the information I have collected so far, I think this feature is going to last for at least two months, depending on how frequently I post. If you don’t have a writer’s Web site, or your site isn’t what you want it to be, stay tuned. We’ll talk about why you need your own domain name, good design elements vs. bad design elements, making your site accessible for people with disabilities, building trust with your site visitors, and much more.

Awesome Change #4: Reviews of e-books and reports that I have purchased or received for free in exchange for signing up for an e-course or newsletter. I have several waiting to be reviewed, so I will be posting one review per week for a while. Then, posting frequency may go to two reviews per month depending on how many information products I buy or receive. If any of you are working on an e-book or report, and would like to have it reviewed, you may send me a copy. Reviews will be at least 400 words in length, and I will link to the information product author’s site as well. I’ll also be posting reviews of teleseminars I have participated in.

If you have any suggestions for topics you would like me to write about, feel free to post in the comments area. See you all tomorrow morning!

Written by lzaykoski

October 12, 2008 at 11:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These sound like some great changes. I’m looking forward to them! šŸ™‚

    latoya

    October 14, 2008 at 2:30 pm

  2. Thanks, LaToya! I’m off to a slow start with blogging today, as I have a project to finish. I’ll be posting in a few hours.

    lzaykoski

    October 14, 2008 at 2:37 pm


Leave a Reply

