Words of Mouse

Freelance Writers & Web Browsers: How Many is Too Many?

with 2 comments

As a freelance writer, I try to have many tools in place so that I can serve my clients well every single time I work with them. This means having several different productivity programs in place, making my writing clips available in several formats, and communicating by phone, e-mail, or instant messenger (whatever is more convenient for the client). I also have a few Web browsers so that I can view their content in different browsers and let them know of any issues. Now, by a few, I mean four. I have Opera, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Microsoft Internet Explorer. Which one works best? I think all of them have their own pros and cons.

Microsoft Internet Explorer is the bane of my existence. I don’t ever use it unless the site I am visiting is owned by people still back in 1994 and is not compatible with any of my other browsers. Seriously, I opened Internet Explorer the other day for the first time in months (a site wasn’t working, and I wanted to see if it was my browser or a site issue), and the damn thing crashed within about two minutes! I’ve never had more trouble than when I used Internet Explorer. All kinds of script errors and who knows what else made a regular appearance on my screen in those days.

Mozilla Firefox is the browser I use most frequently. I really like the viewing experience, and it crashes very infrequently. When it does crash, it’s usually because I have about 42 tabs open along with 12 other programs and the computer can no longer handle my thoughtlessness. Many site owners have gotten smart and now make their sites compatible with Firefox.

Opera has a great user interface and rarely crashes. However, I don’t use it much because a lot of sites won’t let me view or download certain content while using it.

Google Chrome is the newest kid on the block. The user interface is very minimalist, with bright, crisp colors. Plus, every time you open a new tab, it gives you a visual of your most visited sites (so all I need to do is click on the picture of Freelance Writing Jobs at 7 a.m. and it takes me right to the job listings). However, Chrome has several issues that made me put it on the back burner until they come out with a newer version. One is that it is not as secure as possible yet. Another is that it acts rather oddly at times. If I am on one site and then type a new Web address in the address bar, sometimes it will take me to the new site. Other times, it simply makes the tab I was working in disappear. I used it a lot the first few days I had it, but then I got aggravated and went back to reliable old Firefox.

What do other people prefer in terms of browsers? Have you experienced any issues with the above that I did not mention?

Written by lzaykoski

October 13, 2008 at 10:47 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I rely on Firefox. I miss it when I’m on a computer that doesn’t have it.

    I’ve never tried Chrome, but if it has issues, I’ll wait.

    Vivian
    http://VivianZabel.blogspot.com

    Vivian

    October 14, 2008 at 8:02 pm

  2. Welcome, Vivian! Nice to see you here. Chrome is very nice in terms of how it looks, but the kinks are still being worked out. I think it is a good idea to wait. BTW, I just read your blog, and I hope you feel better soon!

    lzaykoski

    October 14, 2008 at 8:10 pm


Leave a Reply

