Words of Mouse

The Best Freelancing Feeling

leave a comment »

We all know that freelancing has its up and downs. For every exciting article acceptance and wonderful client, there will probably be a non-paying client or a rejection slip that puts us down in the dumps. But today, let’s focus on the best feeling you’ve had in terms of your freelance writing career.

Mine just happened recently, when I was looking for work over at Freelance Writing Jobs. When I first started out, I would apply for anything I remotely qualified for, even if I had absolutely zero interest in the topic. Car rental articles? Sign me up. Blog about latex mattresses? Count me in! As I looked through the job listings last week, I clicked on a few and then thought, “you know, I have no interest in these topics” and quickly forgot about them. I didn’t have to apply for something I had no interest in because I’ve finally built my business to the point where I can pick and choose the projects I want and the clients I want to build relationships with for the long haul.

I tell you this not to gloat, but to offer some hope for new writers who are doggedly pursuing leads every day without getting much of a response. You’ve just got to keep putting the effort into applying and, slowly but surely, you’ll begin to receive more responses. When I first started out, I got a response maybe once out of every twenty-five resumes/cover letters I sent out. As time passed, I started receiving more responses, especially as I tweaked my application materials. Now I’m getting regular responses. Also, don’t get discouraged if you don’t hear back about a particular project. I’ve gotten three e-mails this week from editors asking me if I would be interested on working on different projects than I had initially expressed interest in. Funny thing is, I applied for all of the projects in August, so it has taken two months to get a response.

What has been the best feeling in your freelance writing career? Discuss in the comments.

Written by lzaykoski

October 14, 2008 at 7:01 pm

Leave a Reply

