Words of Mouse

Building a Writer’s Web Site: What NOT to Do

with 2 comments

So, I broke my Web site last night, and I really don’t know how to fix it. Inspired by Kristen King’s blog makeover, I decided to get my butt in gear and get my site going. I’d decided to use WordPress since it’s more visually appealing than most platforms, and I already know how to use it, so my learning curve would be pretty short.

The WordPress installation went fine – I uploaded the files to my server via FTP and changed the WP configuration file so it has my database name and password in it. When I was finished doing that, I went right to the install screen and chose a blog name. I got a message saying WordPress had been successfully installed. Except, when I visit my site, I get a 403 forbidden error that tells me I cannot access anything. Now what do I do?!

Written by lzaykoski

October 20, 2008 at 11:36 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eek! Start over?

    I found this on About PC Support.

    Check your WordPress settings and make sure your WordPress address and Blog address both point to your homepage.

    Then, if neither of those helps try posting a thread on Digital Point Forums.

    latoya

    October 23, 2008 at 5:51 am

  2. Oh, I maybe should have said to login to your WordPress dashboard (/wp-admin) page to change the settings.

    latoya

    October 23, 2008 at 5:52 am


Leave a Reply

